Daufuskie Island Foundation

Preserving our Culture.  Protecting our Land.  Securing our Future.

The Daufuskie Island Foundation mission is to assist native Daufuskie Ilanders with opportunities for economic development, and the preservation of its culture and land preservation.

The Board of Directors is comprised of the seven founders.  Native Islanders who are concerned that their heritage is slowly diminishing.  Working closely with natives residing on and off the island, the Foundation provides a highly visible presence for the Gullah Geechee Community on Daufuskie Island.

Board of Directors

Ervin Simmons, President

Amelia Stevens, Vice President

Mary E. Simmons, Secretary

Joean Smith, Treasurer

Henry Simmons, Member

Henrietta Wiley, Member

Ella Mae Jenkins, Ex-Officio Member